The 2020 Davis Cup will be the 109th edition of the Davis Cup
06 - 07 March 2020
d : h : m : s

Davis Cup 2020: Winners, Semi Final Review, and Final in Zagreb

Since 2020, the Davis Cup will change the format of the tournament: in the final part of the tournament 18 teams will compete in one city. It is known that the first receiving party will be the Spanish Madrid.

In February, 24 teams will compete in qualifying for the tournament according to the well-known format of home and away matches (four single matches + one double match for two days). 12 teams will receive permits after the qualifying stage, 4 semi-finalists of the last year will automatically get into the final draw in November, and two more teams will become owners of a “wild card”.

The final tournament will be held from 18 to 24 November 2020. Teams will be divided into six groups, and each qualifying round will include three games: two single and one pair in the format of three sets. The six teams that will take the first places, as well as the two teams with the best performance from the second place, will go through to the quarterfinals, which will be played on Friday. The semi-finals will take place on Saturday, and the title match will take place on Sunday.

Thus, four participants of the final part of the tournament in 2020 are already known – the semifinalists of the current season are France, Spain, Croatia and the United States, as well as four teams that will play in qualifying – Belgium, Italy, Germany and Kazakhstan.

The 2020 Davis Cup is the 106th edition of the tournament that saw two World Wars and numerous legendary champions lift the trophy. Sponsored by BNP Paribas, Davis Cup is played between national teams in men’s tennis and starting from this year, the deciding set of each and every match is settled by a tiebreak at six games – an advantage set is no longer played.

Davis Cup Final

The four Grand Slams may get most of the attention in the world of professional tennis, but the presence of national events in tennis is represented by one major tournament which attempts to unify world tennis stars. The Davis Cup features countries – represented by their star players – taking part in an intense tournament.

Historical Champions

The game between Britain and Argentina will take place in Glasgow, while the match between Croatia and France is scheduled at Zadar in Croatia. These four teams have been able to reach this stage of the competition after having overcome intense fights in the quarter-finals, which were held between 15-17 July. Britain are regarded as the overwhelming favourites to end up as the Davis Cup winners largely due to the presence of inform players like Andy Murray. However, the only narrowly beat Serbia in the quarter-finals to set up a tie against Argentina in the Davis Cup semi final. Two teams had an easy passage through the quarter-finals, but Croatia also did not have this luxury after they overcame the United States with a narrow 3-2 win.

Argentina were just about Serbia in terms of seed positions, but they had a relatively easy passage into the semi-finals after overcoming Italy 3-1. The South American team are yet to be crowned as the winners of a Davis Cup final. Despite having appeared in four finals with three of them coming in the last decade, Argentina have not been able to get that final step out of their way. As a sixth seed, they were handed the luck of the draw to face unseeded Italy in the quarter-final.

France have been very keen on improving their recent record in the Davis Cup. However, they were handed one of the toughest draws in the quarter-final after being paired up against the third seed Czech Republic. France would have been hoping for an unseeded opponent at this stage. However, the game was a comfortable 3-1 success for the team and they remain in contention for their Davis Cup winners title since 2001.

Since winning this tournament, France have ended up immensely disappointed following three runners up finishes in 2002, 2010, and 2014. A victory at the Davis Cup 2020 final could go a long way into removing those bad memories.

Date Champion Score Oponent Round Venue
16 Sep – 18 Sep 2018 Argentina 3 – 2 Great Britain Semifinal Emirates Arena, Glasgow, Great Britain
16 Sep – 18 Sep 2018 Croatia 3 – 2 France Semifinal Kresimir Cosic Hall, Zadar, Croatia
15 Jul 2018 Great Britain 3 – 2 Serbia Quarterfinal Tasmajdan Stadium, Belgrade, Serbia
15 Jul 2018 Argentina 3 – 1 Italy Quarterfinal Circolo Tennis Baratoff, Pesaro, Italy
15 Jul 2018 France 3 – 1 Czech Republic Quarterfinal Werk Arena, Trinec, Czech Republic
15 Jul 2018 Croatia 3 – 2 USA Quarterfinal Tualatin Hills Tennis Center, Portland, Oregon, USA
04 Mar 2018 Argentina 3 – 2 Poland 1st Round Ergo Arena, Gdansk, Poland
04 Mar 2018 Great Britain 3 – 1 Japan 1st Round Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham, Great Britain
04 Mar 2018 Croatia 3 – 2 Belgium 1st Round Country Hall du Sart-Tilman, Liege, Belgium
04 Mar 2018 France 5 – 0 Canada 1st Round Velodrome Amedee Detraux, Guadeloupe, France

Davis Cup Semi Final

It is quite possible that a new winner in the Davis Cup emerges during the 2020 edition. Argentina are the only team in the Davis Cup semi final not have tasted success in the competition. Even though unseeded Croatia have had a victory under their belt back in 2005. This turned out to be one of the most unlikely victories in the Davis Cup history, but it is a trophy nonetheless. Marin Cilic is the only player in the top 20 to have been called up for representing Croatia at the Davis Cup. Amidst such competition, Argentina will be hoping to come good finally.

France have an illustrious history when it comes to this competition, but it is fast turning out into a disappointing run after they could only manage a runners-up finish in the last three attempts. The last victory for the French team at the Davis Cup was in the 2001 edition. The most recent disappointment came in 2014, but 2020 will see the team a refreshed outfit with a strong name like Jo-Wilfried Tsonga announced in the squad. As a result of having featured in 34 out of the 36 Davis Cup titles, France are fifth in the all-time appearance list.

Great Britain, though, are seen as the biggest favourites to reach the Davis Cup final and even win the tournament. Buoyed by the success at Wimbledon, Andy Murray will be a hard man to get past. At this moment, Great Britain seem stronger – at least on paper – than any other opponent. Even though they are up against sixth seed Argentina in the semi-final, the team are expected to deal with this challenge quite comfortably and reach the final where they will face either France or Croatia. One more advantage comes from the fact that the semi-final is on home soil for Britain.

Rank Nation Points Played
1 Great Britain 29736.88 10
2 Czech Republic 21056.25 13
3 Switzerland 17312.50 10
4 France 17075.00 10
5 Argentina 14505.00 11
6 Belgium 12421.25 10
7 Croatia 10237.50 8
8 Serbia 9312.50 10
9 Italy 7415.00 10
10 Australia 6656.25 10